OFFICERS 2012-2014

CATHY DARLING ALLEN PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY VICE PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN TREASURER Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHACK SECRETARY Mendocino County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County JOSEPH HOLLAND

Santa Barbara County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

BEV ROSS Tehama County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County

LINDA TULETT Monterey County

LARRY WARD Riverside County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KAMMI FOOTE

Southern Area Inyo County JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento Coun

Sacramento County
AUSTIN G. ERDMAN

Central Area San Joaquin County ELMA ROSAS

Bay Area Santa Clara County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County CRAIG KRAMER

Sacramento County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

CATHY DARLING ALLEN, PRESIDENT

Shasta County Clerk
1643 Market Street, Redding, CA 96001
Tele 530-225-5730 Fax 530-225-5454
E-Mail: cdarling@co.shasta.ca.us
Website: www.caceo58.org

March 22, 2013

Senator Ricardo Lara, Author State Capitol Room 5050 Sacramento, CA 95814-4900

Dear Senator Lara:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to convey its **Support** for **SB 712** (as introduced January 17, 2013), relating to the vote threshold for write-in candidates for a voter-nominated office.

This proposal establishes a vote threshold that a write-in candidate must reach at a primary election in order to have their name placed upon the general election ballot for a voter-nominated office. This legislation will clarify the administration of California's "Open Primary Act" as it relates to placing candidate names on the general election ballot for voter-nominated offices.

If you or your staff have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department, at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett

Correspondence Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Honorable Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting
Honorable Lou Correa, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments
Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee
Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee
Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates